In Memory of Prince Jones

The further we get from the class of 1992, the fewer will remember who Prince Jones was – despite the scholarship in his name. Let’s hope this page can prevent some of that attrition.

Prince Jones

Before graduating from the Texas Academy of Math and Science to attend Howard University – and before being fatally and tragically shot in the back five times by a Maryland police officer cementing his place in one of the most important issues of our time – Prince Jones was a fantastic classmate. His spirit, charisma, and kindness lifted those around him.

The Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually to one graduating senior from each TAMS class – selected by her or his classmates as having best lived up to Prince Jones’ legacy.

Award recipients:
2019- Rishi Pradeep
2020- Jacob Ha
2021 – Anush Beeram (honorary), Jennifer Huang

To support the Prince Jones Memorial Scholarship fund, please see the Donations page, check the “I would like to donate to a specific fund” box, and select the Prince Jones Scholarship from the drop-down menu.