2021 Prince Jones Memorial Scholarship Recipients

Announcing the 2021 recipients of the Prince Jones Memorial Scholarship! This annual scholarship is in honor of 1992 alumnus, Prince Jones. “Before graduating from the Texas Academy of Math and Science to attend Howard University – and before being fatally and tragically shot in the back five times by a Maryland police officer cementing his place in one of the most important issues of our time – Prince Jones was a fantastic classmate. His spirit, charisma, and kindness lifted those around him.”

This year two recipients were selected:

Anush Beeram, Class of 2021, was tragically killed in a car accident in Feb. of this year. He was selected as an honorary 2021 awardee, as he embodied the principles of the PJMS.

Jennifer Huang, Class 2021, was selected by her peers to receive the 2021 PJMS and will be attending Columbia’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS) as an Applied Mathematics major.

As a reminder, if you would like to contribute to future scholarships check out the Alumni Association donation page: https://www.tamsalumni.org/donations

TAMS Alumni Association Scholarship Recipients

Announcing the 2021 recipients of the Alumni Scholarship Awards! Thanks to the generous donations from alumni we were able to award scholarships to 9 current TAMSters at an Awards Ceremony on March 1st. The student recipients were extremely grateful and wanted to relay their appreciation to all of the alumni who continue to generously contribute to make these scholarships possible.

Scholarship Recipients:
Braiden D Aaronson
Eliana Victoria Ankomah
Venkat S Ayalavarapu
Lilia Mai Chesky
Anusha Kakileti
Abinaya Kumar
Samuel A Ruiz
Tiffany Ryu
Kathyayani Yella

As a reminder, if you would like to contribute to future scholarships check out the TAMS Alumni Association donation page: https://www.tamsalumni.org/donations/

In Memory of Shoor Kalam

The Alumni Association was immensely saddened to hear of the passing of Shoor Kalam this weekend. Shoor, Class of 1995, has served on the Alumni board for years and tirelessly worked to help raise money to support current and future Tamsters. Here is a link where you can donate to support his family if you are able to https://mealtrain.com/26ld9q.

Additionally, we have been contacted by alumni wishing to establish a scholarship in his name to honor his legacy. The association would be more than honored to direct any donations received in the next month towards this effort. https://www.tamsalumni.org/donations/

We ask that you keep his family in your thoughts and prayers during this difficult time.

Announcing The First Prince Jones Scholarship

We are excited to announce the TAMS Alumni Association will award the inaugural Prince Jones Scholarship … THIS YEAR! This was made possible by generous TAMS alumni – many from Prince Jones’ graduating class.

The Prince Jones Scholarship honors the legacy of Prince Jones (TAMS class of 1992) and will be the first named scholarship from the Association, and the first awarded to an outgoing TAMSter.

TAMS and TAMS Alumni Association leadership announce the Prince Jones Scholarship at a TAMS Seminar in January 2019

A subsequent announcement will name the recipient, selected by TAMS administration and classmates for best representing Prince Jones’ character, integrity, and overall charisma in connecting with fellow students.

To support the Prince Jones scholarship fund, please see the Donations page, check the “I would like to donate to a specific fund” box, and select the Prince Jones Scholarship from the drop-down menu.

2018-2019 TAMS Alumni Association Scholarship

Thanks to the generous donations of TAMS alumni, the TAMS Alumni Association was able to award ten (10!) scholarships of $1,200 each in early 2019. This year, the Association and TAMS leadership streamlined the selection process to intensify the focus on TAMSters’ needs – particularly in under-represented areas of the state.

Congratulations to the following!

Nikita Isabella Agers (Gladewater)
Tam Dang (Fort Worth)
Julianna Esparza (El Paso)
Cassidy Frier (Arlington)
Jacob Ha (Chillicothe)
Jennifer Huynh (Arlington)
Keely Lam (Mesquite)
Michalis Paizanis (Killeen)
Morgan Wagner (Ponder)
Colby Wilson (Nocona)